Close this search box.

sanneh laminThe Lamin Sanneh Research Grants are named in honor of the late Yale Professor Lamin Sanneh, pioneer in the study of World Christianity, OMSC trustee, and contributing editor to the IBMR.  Each year OMSC@PTS will award two prizes of $10,000 each, distributed across the two-year duration of the grant, in support of research proposals by Christian scholars from Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Professor Sanneh had a passion for what he called “lived religion,” studies that provide insight into how Christian communities and persons understand and live out their faith in specific historical, cultural, social, and political contexts. Winning proposals will help to expand and nuance the global church’s knowledge of the world Christian movement.

Learn more about our CURRENT awardees



Submission Deadline: June 30, 2023 


Time frame of Award: September 2024 – August, 2026


Amount: Two grants of $10,000 each


Every year, the Overseas Ministries Study Center at Princeton Theological Seminary (OMSC@PTS) invites proposals for two two-year “Lamin Sanneh Research Grants.”  Proposals are welcome from those working in Mission Studies, broadly conceived, World Christianity, Intercultural Theology or a cognate field.  We welcome interdisciplinary proposals that feature empirical research as well as theological reflection. Proposals may draw on literature in theology (Biblical Studies, Christian History, Systematic or Dogmatic Theology, or Practical Theology), social sciences (Anthropology, Archaeology, Economics, Geography, Politics, Psychology, or Sociology), or the humanities (Art, Ancient and Modern Languages, History, Law, Literature, Philosophy, or Religious Studies).

Grant funds may be used for ground-breaking research initiatives, including the costs for field work, library research, writing and submitting work for presentation and publication, and associated travel. During the two-year grant term, part of the grant must be reserved for travel to one international academic conference where you will present the results of your Sanneh Research Grant.

The selection committee for the 2023-25 awards include Dr. Soojin Chung, Dr. Easten Law, Dr. Moses Biney, Dr. Alexander Chow, and Dr. Karla Koll.

*               *               *

Please click on the DONATE button at the top of the page to designate a gift in support of the Lamin Sanneh Research Prizes.

Scroll to Top